What Is the English Football Hall of Fame?

The National Football Museum houses the English Football Hall of Fame in Manchester, England. The Hall’s goal is to highlight and celebrate the individuals who have become famous figures in English football history. New members are included every year at the induction ceremonies that are set every autumn, which were formerly held in different locations but are now exclusively held in the Museum with its transfer to Urbis building in 2012.

The Hall is permanently displayed inside the Museum. The accompanying book written by Rob Galvin features football’s hall of famers and the all-time legends of the sport. Mark Bushell, the Museum’s founding curator, updates the book every year for its newest inductees. The book also contains a detailed profile of the reputation and career of every one and a selected exhibit from the Museum. The profile also provides information of the hall of famer’s achievements.

Selecting the Hall of Fame

Members of the Hall of Fame are selected through a panel. This is initially made up of ex-players like Gordon Taylor, Mark Lawrenson, Jimmy Hill, and Trevor Brooking, all of which had become senior figures and pundits of the game after retirement. These very significant individuals have been associated with Graham Taylor, a former manager of England, and a group of England’s most prominent football historians – Jean Williams, John Walton, Matthew Taylor, Dave Russell, Gail Newsham, Tony Mason, Graham Kelly, Alexander Jackson, Simon Inglis, John Hughson, Dick Holt, Peter Holme, and Rob Galvin. It is the role of the group to give advice on the choosing of players during the early days of the game.

All living inductees in the Hall are provided with additional positions over the panel. Two players were inducted as fans’ choice after polls over the Sky Sports and BBC Sport websites.